New Game Plan

I have never been actively competitive in a sport. I regret that my parents did not have time or inclination to instill that important value in me. Even so, if everyone played sports, no one would be around to watch sports. Just because I’ve never played sports, though, that doesn’t mean I don’t get the point of competition. The lessons involved are 1. play hard 2. do your best 3. be a good sport 4. lose graciously 5. win graciously 6. learn from your mistakes.

I don’t really see that many of the people in charge in Washington have ever fully embraced these lessons. If they don’t review the game tapes and revamp their strategy, the whole look of the Congress after 2010 and 2012 will be new blood. That would be awesome, considering the way we American voters have been treated lately. C’mon Washington, get a new game plan.

Leave a Reply

