HARRY REID SHOWED POOR JUDGMENT

For years, I have lived in Kentucky. I think Kentucky, as a southern state, has an undeserved reputation for being “racist.” My amateur sociological studies through the years have taught me that racism can exist anywhere at any time from any person. Oh, news flash–it’s not always white people guilty of it either.

A few years back, I had a very dear friend who was running for judge and he happened to be black. Several highly educated people made the comment to me that my town would not vote a black man for judge. I thought that was ridiculous, and I was right. They voted him in because he was competent and capable. MLK Jr. had that dream, and it became a reality for my friend.

Harry Reid is of the generation that apparently feels no qualm about expressing his thoughts about society. Implicit in his comment about “light-skinned” is a recognition that among blacks, light-skinned blacks are more favored. Don’t tell me I’M being racist in saying this; I have read too many articles in which black people have discussed this very phenomenon. I find it refreshingly honest that Harry Reid could also muster the courage (is that what it is-NAH) the chutzpah to say to someone whom he THOUGHT he could trust that President Obama does not use a “negro dialect”” unless he chooses to. Now frankly the term “negro dialect” is outdated and clearly one reflective of Harry Reid’s age. While he offensively stated his opinion with outdated language, the statement is true. Obama “affects” a certain way of speaking when he is with certain groups. He comes off sounding like several different black evangelists I’ve listened to over the years. And he does it to pander. And Harry Reid knows that. His statement acknowledged that it was a powerful tool that Obama could use to attract certain groups to vote for him.

There are a lot of things not to like about Harry Reid. Do I think he was being racist? No. I think he was being honest for one time in his pathetic life. It’s just a shame that he felt he had to apologize for it. I’d rather see Bill Clinton forced to apologize for his ridiculous statement. But what difference does it make! I said above that Harry Reid showed poor judgment. The lack of discretion and wisdom of speaking those words in the first place to anyone in this time of extreme political correctness show that he did not adequately gauge the threat of being used for financial gain at some point. I don’t feel sorry for him, though. He has a long history of putting his foot in his mouth. Pass the A-1 please. Harry needs variety.

Leave a Reply

