Fraud in a Government Freebie Program? Say it ain’t so, Joe!

School supplies. I have a freshman in high school, so yes, I know the cost of school supplies. I also know a lot about resources, because I have been involved in social service dealings for a long time. We have these agencies we call “community partners.” Now, these can be government funded agencies, or they can be some of the “1,000 points of light” that Bush 41 always referred to. Those are community agencies that give of themselves, including faith-based agencies such as churches and agencies that derive from the various denominations, such as Catholic Charities in Louisville who help low-income people with legal issues, among other things. The government decided this week that it would be a good idea to have a giveaway program to make sure that needy children in NYC received school supplies. To the tune of $200 per kid. That’s quite a windfall if you have 6 or 7. Anyway, you gotta wonder what these people are thinking when they just hand over some cash or a cash-like prize to people who cannot or will not make it on their own. Of course, some of the money was spent on cigarettes, beer, big-screen TVs and the like. I am not just dreaming this up–it’s documented. Please go to http://www.angrywhiteguy.com if you don’t believe me.

Now, here’s the point. Give the money to one of the above-named agencies to divvy it up after they determine who is qualified to receive it. I bet you’ll meet more children’s needs that way, instead of handing it over to Ms. Shopaholic. knowhutimean?

P.S. We weren’t rich growing up. My mother worked two and three jobs sometimes to make sure we had a roof. That’s the American work ethic that I was reared under. Sad to see its demise.

2 responses to “Fraud in a Government Freebie Program? Say it ain’t so, Joe!

  1. Thank you, for giving credit…..no kids at home now, so I only work one for a paycheck, get a little retirement too, so that makes it easier. Mom still does not ask for any government hand out. The social security money I get is mine, it came out of my pocket for many years. And, that is the way it should be. I am proud to be able to say that all the children who lived in my house had a strict work ethic instilled into them. They still have it. Good post, dear.

Leave a Reply

